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“:h CARAVANS

Trade caravans have formed, in order to be able to use known routes more efficiently. Use the caravans in this mini-expansion, to
transport goods and improve or double them, or even score valuable points.

CONTENTS AND SFETUP

The setup of the base game applies, however, the material of this mini-expansion is added as follows:

CONTENTS alfsa Shuffle the 4 new characters together with the ones from the base game.
* 4 characters W A Next, draw characters (Number of players plus 1) and pick your characters,

* 5 caravans e as usual.
* 10 route tiles Ed Y g Attention: In order to get to know the new characters, you can also start

* 1 score board @ E}% playing with just those instead.

uw Place the caravans, smbolized through {72 ~ o Place the scoring board next to the game

boxes, next to the player board of the 8 =" board, clearly visible.

““ respective color.The gray caravanisonly E!J_U;“.! @ 1 &) Alsoplace the route tiles next to the player
w neededwhenplayingTartarino €9.Put (5] JEE) ‘a@&d| supply, faceup and clearly visible, to form a

allremaining caravans backinto the box .. H. — supply.

THF, ROUTES

In this mini-expansion, you can travel along trade routs.

In order to successfully complete a route, both your caravan and your figure have to stand on the same space. How a caravan
enters the game will be explained below. All actions thatinclude a caravan are considered bonus actions (see page 12, base game
rulebook).

PLAYING AND LOADING A CARAVAN

If your figure is standing on a city (not an oasis), you may take a route tile with the matching shield icon from the supply. This is
your route now. Place your caravan on a city that shows the other shield of the route tile.

Next, you have to load your caravan with (‘/./\ ) from your supply. You may decide, which goods it shall transport. How-
ever, your caravan must not enter the game empty. If no fitting route tile is available, you cannot play your caravan.

Example:

You arein city FUZHOU. As your caravanis still , Nextyoutakeyourcaravanandloaditwith
next to your player board, you take the route 1 ‘ und 1§

tile with the matching shield of the city. s youplacethecaravaninthecityofChengdu.

MOVING A CARAVAN

Each time, after having used the books (market), you may move your caravan. Using the first book allows you to move your ca-
ravan 1 space, the second book 1-2 spaces and the third book 1-3 spaces. In doing so, move your caravan in the same manner
as your figure on the game board, save for the following variations:

Attention: a caravan can only travel by water if you have the matching guild seal.

« acaravan does never trigger an outpost bonus
-+ acaravan does not have to pay coins or goods when traveling
+ acaravan cannot place trading posts in a city
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Example

You use the market and take an action on the 2. book.
After having completed the action, you move your
caravan up to 2 spaces from Chengdu to Pagan.

COMPLETING A ROUTE
You may complete your route, if both your caravan and your figure are standing on the same space.

Attention: Bonus actions must not be taken during another action. This means, that you cannot complete your route when
passing by, but only after having completed the movement.

You now do have the following options regarding your transported goods:

Double goods - place the goods from your caravan back into your supply and take another additional good of the
same kind from the general supply.

Improve goods - spend 1 . and take 1@ or spend 1@ and take 14 . Put the improved goods into your supply.
Gold bars cannot be improved!

sell goods - Put the goods into the general supply and receive points according to the scoring tile.

You may decide separately for each good, how you want to use it. After having done so, put the route tile back into the general
supply, facedown and place your caravan next to your player board.

Example
Yourfigureandcaravanareinthe
same city (Pagan). You decide to
sellthegoldbar.Youputthegold i
bar back into the general supply
and receive 6 points.

Youdecidetodoublethepepperbag.
You put the pepper bag from you
_caravan back into your supply and
take 1 additional pepper bag from
the general supply.
Next, you place the route tile back
into the general supply, facedown
and placeyour caravan nexttoyour
player board.

GAMEPLAY

Atthe beginning of each round, flip over all facedown route tiles, so that they are faceup. Those route tiles are now available again.

FND OF GAMEF,

If your caravan is still on the game board at the end of the game, you may sell all remaining goods for half of the usual points.
This way, a gold bar is worth 3 points, a silk bundle 2 points and a pepper bag 1 point.

THE NEW CHARACTERS — what are their abilities?

) Vidal Badoer (can be played in Marco Polo 1 and Marco Polo Il alike) f.

| - When completing contracts, you never pay goods or camels, however, you also never receive points for the
contracts completed.

| - When taking new contracts using the action space on the game board (in Marco Polo 1, as well as Il), you only
| receive 1 contract. All other bonuses or conditions do still apply.

- At the final scoring (points for contracts), your contracts are counted as 4 completed contracts — regardless
if you have completed more or less.

- Bonus action 1x per round you may sell 1 set ‘.\ for 5 points..

You complete a contract and take 2 jade pieces from the general Qp &)
supply.Inordertodo so,you do not have to pay, howeveryoualso x
do not receive points.

Example:




Tebaldo Visconti da Piacenza (can only be played using this expansion and Marco Polo II) 4
- | -When moving your caravan, it may travel up to 2 extra spaces.

- When improving a guild seal, you do not have to pay coins.

'] - On top of that, you receive +1 shieldu at the final scoring.

Exampel: You want to move your caravan from Jaipur 4 to Merw [9] As you possess the tailor’s guild seal, the
action on the 3. book does suffice. Thanks to your special ability, you can travel 5 spaces instead of 3.

™ Donata Badoer (can be played in Marco Polo1 and Marco Polo Il alike) 4

4 | - at the beginning of the game, after all other players have taken their bonuses, you may take 3 remaining
figures of different colors. If more than 3 are remaining, you may choose, which ones to take.

3| You may place these figures as a 6-value die onto a free action space.

“| When doing so, you must note the following:

Each color can be used for all regularly available actions

You may use the figure in combination with other dice and/or also with other figures.

You can also place the figure of your own or your fellow player’s color on a city with a trading post of
the same color.

A figure of a color which does not belong to a player, can also be placed in cities, which do not have
trading posts.

At the end of the action, the figure immediately leaves the game, meaning that the figure will never occupy a space.
Attention: If you have already placed all your dice, your turn is over, even if you have not placed any figures yet.

-Through this character’s second ability, you receive 2 camels, each time after having used an action, which is already occu-
pied by at least one other dice.

Attention: You will never receive 2 camels for placing the remaining 3 figures, as they cannot be placed on an action space,
that is already occupied.

Example: : - S

You use the red figure in order to B2 R Youput5 @ and 5 @8 from your

resolve an action in a city with a ' = | supply into the general supply and

red trading post _ 3 thusreceive 15 points. Afterthat, put
the figure back into the box

Piedro Tartarino (can only be played using this expansion and Marco Polo Il) €9

- At the beginning of the game you receive the 2. neutral caravan. This means, that you can have 2 caravans on
the game board at the same time. Therefore, you may also take a second route tile, even if you do already have
| one. Each caravan needs its own route. When moving your caravan, you may move both of your caravans the
respective number of spaces (1-3).

-When scoring a caravan, you may put a tile of your choice back into the general supply. This way, you do not
have to keep track, which caravan entered the game through which tile.

- On top of this, you receive 3 points and 1 jade for each completed route.

FXCFEPTIONS

_——

Mailin und Tian Chin, and Niccolo & Marco Polo + Donata Badoer %
If your fellow players, play characters, who enable them to use their 2nd figure, while you are play-
ing Donata Badoer, you cannot choose their colors as bonus figure. However, there always have to be
enough figures in order to be able to receive 3.

Mailin und Tian Chin in combination with the caravan:

When you play a new caravan, you must not place it in a city, in which one of your figures is currently
standing.
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